# London Borough of Hammersmith & Fulham

# COUNCIL



## 18 May 2016

APPOINTMENT OF CHAIRS AND COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

Report of the Leader – Councillor Stephen Cowan

Open Report

Classification: For Decision Key Decision: No

Wards Affected: None

Accountable Director: Tasnim Shawkat – Monitoring Officer

Report Author: Kayode Adewumi, Head	Contact Details: Tel: 020 8753 2499
of Governance and Scrutiny	E-mail: <u>kayode.adewumi@lbhf.gov.uk</u>

### 1. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- 1.1. Overview and scrutiny is an important element of the Council's constitution. Overview and Scrutiny Committees, known in Hammersmith and Fulham as Policy and Accountability Committees, develop key policies for the Council on behalf of and with residents and community groups and hold the Executive to account. The Council is required to appoint Policy and Accountability Committees (PACs), as set out below, to discharge the functions conferred by section 21 of the Local Government Act 2000, and regulations under section 32 of the Local Government Act 2000 or Local Government and Public Involvement in Health Act 2007.
- 1.2 The Council is also asked to appoint Members to the regulatory committees and other bodies set out below to discharge the responsibilities for council functions as outlined in the constitution.

### 2. **RECOMMENDATION**

- 2.1 That the Council agrees the appointments of Chairs and Memberships of Regulatory, Policy and Accountability and other Committees under its Constitution for the Municipal Year 2016/17, as set out in appendix 1.
- 2.2 This Council also notes their respective Portfolios / Terms of Reference, as set out in the Council's Constitution.

#### LOCAL GOVERNMENT ACT 2000 - LIST OF BACKGROUND PAPERS None.

# **REGULATORY & OTHER COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIPS 2016 / 2017**

## 1. PLANNING AND DEVELOPMENT CONTROL COMMITTEE

Councillor Adam Connell (Chair)	Councillor Lucy Ivimy
Councillor lain Cassidy (Vice-chair)	Councillor Alex Karmel
Councillor Colin Aherne	Councillor Rob Largan
Councillor Michael Cartwright	Councillor Viya Nsumbu
Councillor Wesley Harcourt	
Councillor Natalia Perez	

#### 2. LICENSING COMMITTEE

Councillor Natalia Perez (Chair)	Councillor Adronie Alford
Councillor Daryl Brown (Vice-chair)	Councillor Steve Hamilton
Councillor Hannah Barlow	Councillor Alex Karmel
Councillor Colin Aherne	Councillor Mike Adam
Councillor Iain Cassidy	Councillor Belinda Donovan
Councillor Larry Culhane	Councillor Jane Law
Councillor Guy Vincent	Councillor Frances Stainton
Councillor Vivienne Lukey	
Councillor Max Schmid	

### 3. LICENSING SUB-COMMITTEE

Councillor Natalia Perez (Chair)	Councillor Mike Adam
Councillor Daryl Brown (Vice-chair)	

#### 4. AUDIT, PENSIONS AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE

- ,	
Councillor lain Cassidy (Chair)	Councillor Mike Adam
Councillor Ben Coleman	Councillor Nick Botterill
Councillor Michael Cartwright	Councillor Mark Loveday
Councillor PJ Murphy	Councillor Donald Johnson
Councillor Guy Vincent	

### 5. APPOINTMENTS PANEL

The membership of the Appointments Panel is detailed in Appendix 3 of Item 6.5 – Review of the Constitution.

#### 6. AUDIT, PENSIONS AND STANDARDS COMMITTEE (APPOINTMENTS) PANEL

Leader (Chair)	Leader of the Opposition
Deputy Leader (Vice-Chair)	
+ Chair of Audit, Pensions and Standards Committee ex officio	

- 7. AUDIT, PENSIONS AND STANDARDS (REVIEW) SUB COMMITTEE Members for the above must be drawn from the full membership of the Audit, Pensions and Standards Committee.
- 8. AUDIT, PENSIONS AND STANDARDS (APPEALS) SUB COMMITTEE Members for the above must be drawn from the full membership of the Audit, Pensions and Standards Committee.

# 9. AUDIT, PENSIONS AND STANDARDS (DISPENSATIONS) SUB COMMITTEE

Members for the above must be drawn from the full membership of the Audit, Pensions and Standards Committee.

### **10. PENSIONS SUB-COMMITTEE**

Councillor lain Cassidy (Chair)	Councillor Michael Adam
Councillor P J Murphy	Councillor Nicholas Botterill
Councillor Guy Vincent	

### 11. HEALTH AND WELL BEING BOARD

Cabinet Member for Health and Adult Social Care - Councillor Vivienne Lukey (Chair)

Councillor Rory Vaughan (Deputy)

Cabinet Member for Children and Education - Councillor Sue Macmillan Councillor Sharon Holder (Deputy)

### 12. WORMWOOD SCRUBS CHARITABLE TRUST

Councillor Wesley Harcourt	Councillor Joe Carlebach
Councillor Elaine Chumnery	

## 13. NORTH WEST LONDON JOINT HEALTH OVERVIEW & SCRUTINY COMMITTEE

Councillor Rory Vaughan (Voting Member)

#### 14. PENSIONS BOARD

Councillor Ali Hashem Councillor Rory Vaughan

## **OTHER BODIES**

Note: The bodies below are advisory bodies only, and have no legal decision-making powers

15. ADOPTION AND FOSTERING PANEL Councillor Caroline Needham

### 16. CORPORATE PARENTING BOARD

Councillor Sue Macmillan (Chair)	Councillor Joe Carlebach
Councillor Sue Fennimore	
Councillor Caroline Needham	

#### POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEES MEMBERSHIP 2015/16

#### 1. CHILDREN AND EDUCATION POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

Councillor Caroline Needham (Chair)	Councillor Caroline Ffiske
Councillor Alan De'Ath	Councillor Marcus Ginn
Councillor Elaine Chumnery	

#### 2. COMMUNITY SAFETY, ENVIRONMENT AND RESIDENTS SERVICES POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

Councillor Larry Culhane (Chair)	Councillor Charlie Dewhirst
Councillor Iain Cassidy	Councillor Steve Hamilton
Councillor Sharon Holder	

# 3. ECONOMIC REGENERATION, HOUSING AND THE ARTS POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

Councillor Alan De'Ath (Chair)	Councillor Harry Phibbs
Councillor Daryl Brown	Councillor Lucy Ivimy
Councillor Adam Connell	

### 4. FINANCE AND DELIVERY POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

(	Councillor PJ Murphy (Chair)	Councillor Greg Smith
(	Councillor Ali Hashem	Councillor Mike Adam
(	Councillor Guy Vincent	

# 5. HEALTH, ADULT SOCIAL CARE AND SOCIAL INCLUSION POLICY AND ACCOUNTABILITY COMMITTEE

Councillor Rory Vaughan (Chair)	Councillor Andrew Brown
Councillor Hannah Barlow	Councillor Joe Carlebach
Councillor Natalia Perez	